In the Trenches

It is hard to have a loved one serving in the forces yet so much about their work could offer comfort:

You, my soldier are in the trenches
Fighting for me and mine.
I cannot have you in my arms
You’re out there fighting for me and mine

My man is away on adventure
Not a foolish one where mice scamper and owls hoot
He is in the trenches
Fighting for me and mine.

My soldier I cannot be selfish
To want you for me and me alone
That is because you have a big heart
Fighting for me and mine

Where I am weak I know you are strong
I feel you in the wind
Executing the command
That knowledge makes me strong
Because you are in the trenches
Fighting for me and mine

When it is painful that you come close
Yet not near enough for my arms to hold
I will be comforted in knowing we share the sun and the moon
And you are going to the trenches
To fight for me and mine.

I may toss and turn
Trying to reach you
But you will come home
Where I will be held in the strength of your arms
You will be back from the trenches
From fighting for me and mine

Your love will rock me
Your presence will enfold me
You will have been back from the trenches
Back from fighting for me and mine.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Joy Isaiah on October 7, 2015 at 4:25 pm

    A beautiful peace really. I love it. Out of curiosity who among your relatives serves in the forces?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

