A Road He Walked

Laughter rings as something about her stirs me within. My heart skips about its cage as her slender palm is closed in mine. The sun of my heart shines bright with the knowledge that the journey to this moment has not been one without event. The road had tossed me here and there and the twists and turns had been without number.

An earlier time had seen my tears make a fog and if I were a car, the head-lights would have been turned on at mid-day. How well despair and hopelessness hid the road ahead, my faith waning as would the golden glow of a setting sun.

Seeking life partnership is as coursing  road not cobbled. There are men who have tough steeds to pull their wagons along, and many more who have to walk it with bared heels. Some are spared the ruts and humps while others have to trudge right across them. I tried every way I could, to walk this highway, but only slipped and fell; did the rain in its wake ever spare me the beating?

A thought to pray dawned, and though I only meant to be faithful in asking God to bring a girl into my life, there began a lesson. I learnt that, unless I was ready to have a relationship with God, there was no way I could have one with one of His daughters. Prayer began a work that then made, and strengthened me.

Desire had at one point driven me to take matters from His hands into my own and the disappointment had been grave. No, I could not approach God to only make my list of needs known, and end at that. He is my Father and longs to engage me.

“Delight in the Lord, and He will grant the desire of your heart”, says The Word.

Taking time to pray and to give thanks when the object of my desire has turned down my advance, helped me cultivate a relationship with God first, before considering His granting me a partner. I learnt to tell him my deepest disappointments, an issue I tried to share with friends, but had immediately had to shy away. They had treated my case with mirth as some pointed out my folly.

A relationship between a man and his wife is a depiction of the relationship between Christ and His Church. It is a time to learn patience and endurance, but most of all to learn that we do not live life for ourselves. The gift of companionship is packaged with a need to make sacrifices. Appreciating one another becomes as beautiful in the light of all these becomes a fragrance to lighten the experience – it makes every effort in the journey, worthwhile. When challenges come, remaining together builds two strong people with a love that endures.

We are shown that God, in the same way, has never walked out on us because of our ingenuity with Him. He has offered His Son as a sacrifice to atone for our sins reunited us with Him.

As I walk with this angel, I know it is not, and will not be easy. It started with the usual glee of new-found love but soon, thorns were pricking. Wading through the mud that follows, together, has helped us grow and develop principles that help strengthen the bond between us. We each know that the other person, though different, is God’s gift. Shall we treat such greatness with contempt or negligence?

Walking with God helps one realise that in His time He makes things beautiful, especially when He comes first in all we pursue.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by joy on July 5, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    if there is one thing I admire in you is your honesty of heart matters. ”The blessing of the Lord (is tmely) and addeth no sorrow” -brackets myn. Wish you all the best. Baraka!

    Reply

    • Well, I realised that opening up leads to such freedom…it also helps light a light where I have walked in darkness. Thanks for the compliment too 🙂

      Reply

  2. Posted by Sulweh on July 5, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    This is beautiful Cherrypie…A relationshp is about sacrifice n that happens when the people involved walk in LOVE…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Charlotte on September 6, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Let us share The testimony with an attitude of Thanksgiving to ashamed the enemy and also encourage as many as are waiting on the Lord concerning same matter
    A gift from God who in this case Peter BalaAndang’o, is handled with Honor.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

